System Architecture

The D-NET software toolkit installation, namely a D-NET infrastructure, enables a run-time environment where services can be dynamically deployed, shared and combined to form applications.

D-NET services are organized into six main areas:

  • Enabling Area. It includes the services supporting the infrastructure’s run-time. These provide functionalities such as service registration, discovery, orchestration, authentication and authorization, subscription and notification. Enabling services keep an updated map of system resources (data sources and services) and enable the orchestration of services of data management areas into data processing workflows.
  • Data Mediation Area.
  • Data Mapping Area.
  • Data Storage and Linking Area.
  • Data Curation and Enrichment Area.
  • Data Provision Area.